Dubai from the perspective of its young, male workers

http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2008/09/22/world/20080922DUBAI_17.html

Link directs you to a New York Times media slideshow titled Generation Faith: Away From Home in Dubai. The slideshow includes 17 photographs of life in Dubai from the perspective of young men who have moved to Dubai recently in hopes for a better life. They give their perspective about Dubai’s take on the economy, religion and culture.

Slide 3 excerpt:

Taj Maarafi, 24, is from Tunisia, and has lived in Dubai for almost two years. He works as a waiter. “I miss my life in Tunisia – but I’m not going back. I have an independence here that I wouldn’t have even if I made more money back home. I’m making my own future. This is one thing in Dubai: you’re not part of a family, or a group. You come here as an individual, and this is how people see you.”

Leave a Reply

